Hall of Modern Art

Contemporary art of Kazakhstan has been developing based on a synthesis of great heritage of the past, present innovations and aspirations for the future. It is open to new artistic trends and is in constant creative search forming unique layer of fine arts of Kazakhstan.

It was in the 1990s in art there was formed a new national idea, being the opposite to pathos of the social protest end of 1980s. Independence has contributed to turning to cultural memory, values ​​of traditional culture based on the Saki and Turkic ideas about wholeness of the universe, macro-and microcosm, nature and a human being, which suggest relationship between spiritual and material foundations, their harmony and mutual influence.

1990s clearly disclose in our time as they set impetus to fine arts development. Beginning of the 21st century in Kazakhstan’s art as well as in the world of art has the overall development trends: there are no uniform standards; each group of artists has its own value qualities, language and style. In this new age the art has reached its exemplary performance, its clean conceptual forms and harmony having formed a significant wide response. In a pluralist society a variety of styles must coexist in close unity and collaboration. Relying on the spiritual heritage the artists compose languages ​​of symbols, turning the real world into the world of signs, metaphors, personifications and identities. In addition, each direction and each style in a special sense codifies the meaning of an artistic text, so focusing on various aspects of the theme. As a result such traditional areas of fine art, as Realism, Symbolism, Impressionism, Expressionism, Dadaism, Abstractionism in all their versions gain new quality, and a new kind of art comes into being - contemporary art.

Masters of traditional realism often turn to historical topics, each in his/her own way remodeling historically significant events, everyday scenes or historical figures, while focusing attention on separate sides of the phenomenon or character which seem  particularly important to an author. Such a personal and emotional "reading" of the past helps the viewer to be wrapped up in the atmosphere of what he/she saw. Metaphorical and symbolic realism uses mythological or folkloric material to reveal the essence of contemporary moral and ethical issues. Neorealist followers consider the objective world around us as a living animate beginning through which people can fulfill themselves, but which has an active influence on a man largely molding him.

Codification is often used by representatives of symbolism being the most popular current movement. In the works of these authors  there is some object, a natural object, a person or a typical home life episode that symbolize significant phenomenon or concept: love for the motherland, protest against social injustice, preaching moral and ethical values ​​in the fullness of their forms.

In landscape painting there is high demand for post-impressionism. Works representing this trend has always been filled with a sense of joyful perception of the world; they embodied the artist's admiration for beauty, generosity and force of nature. It is very important for authors to be as accurate as possible in conveying the lush growth of trees and flowers, brightness of sunlight and air breezed items.

Expressionism is represented by works which are emotionally saturated, when the strength of artists’ s feeling - admiring surprise, delight, hope, protest – is embodied in the forced colour and in vigorous, often " nervous", brushstroke and natural shapes of an object get distorted by its influence.

In symbolic compositions in Dada style the world often appears in its lyrical version, there is purity and immediacy, "childishness" in perception of the world. Dadaist paintings are a new world of universal categories of human values.

The most difficult to grasp are often abstract art works; in them outlook of the artist is expressed through geometric shapes that embody the concepts of the world and the author's feelings, their configuration, relative positions, their color, which give a viewer the greatest freedom of interpretations and associations thereby evoking imagination.

Actual art is one of the latest conquests of modern culture. Its different types like performance, happenings, installation, assemblage, etc. are in stark contrast to the usual ideas about art, introducing objects and phenomena, initially not that way, into the area of aesthetic ideas. Here position of the artist is very important; he/she was able to see them as a cultural phenomenon and emotionally, in a highly personal form conveys his/her thinking to a viewer. This is one of the most socially oriented branches of art.

Graphicsis represented by the works of the most famous representatives of the period. Their genre addiction is diverse - from the historic one to the genre art, landscape and portrait. It is also important that at the exposition you can enjoy all kinds of this art: watercolor, drawing, copper-plate engraving, lithography and linocut printing.

Поделиться

Зал современного искусства

Тематика выставки предполагает включение в экспозицию произведений художников  разных поколений, чье творчество принадлежит к наиболее актуальным направлениям изобразительного искусства Казахстана  этого периода.

Именно в 90-е годы в искусстве формировалась новая национальная идея, противоположная пафосу социального протеста конца 80-х годов. Обретенная независимость способствовала обращению к культурной памяти, ценностям традиционной культуры, в основе которой лежат сакские и тюркские представления о единстве мироздания, макро- и микро- космоса, природы и человека, предполагающие взаимосвязь духовного и материального начал, их гармонию и взаимовлияние.

Задавшие импульсы развития изобразительного искусства, 1990-е годы ярко раскрываются в наше время. Начало XXI века в искусстве Казахстана, как и в мировом искусстве, имеет общие тенденции развития: нет единых стандартов, каждая группа художников имеет свои ценностные критерии качества, язык и стиль. В это новое время изобразительное искусство достигло собственных образцовых показателей, своими чистыми концептуальными формами и гармоничностью, сформировав  значительный общественный резонанс. В плюралистическом обществе множество стилей должны сосуществовать в тесном единстве и содружестве. В опоре на духовное наследие художники слагают языки символов, превращая реальный мир в мир знаков-метафор, олицетворений, тождеств. При этом каждое направление, каждый стиль по-особому кодифицирует смысл изобразительного текста, акцентируя внимание на различных аспектах темы. В результате чего, такие традиционные направления изобразительного искусства, как реализм, символизм, постимпрессионизм, экспрессионизм, дадаизм, абстракционизм во всех своих модификациях обретают новые качества, и появляется новый вид изобразительного искусства – актуальное искусство.

Мастера традиционного реализма часто обращаются к исторической тематике, каждый по-своему реконструируя исторически значимые события, бытовые эпизоды либо исторические личности, при этом концентрируя внимание на отдельных сторонах явления или героя, представляющихся автору особенно важными. Такое личностное, эмоциональное «прочтение» прошлого помогает зрителю полностью погрузиться в атмосферу увиденного. Метафорический и символический реализм используют мифологический или фольклорный материал для раскрытия сущности современных морально-этических проблем. Последователи неореализма рассматривают окружающий нас предметный мир как живое одушевленное начало, через которое человек может выразить себя, но которое и активно воздействует на человека,  во многом формируя его.

Особенно часто используют кодификацию представители  символизма – наиболее востребованного сегодня направления.  В произведениях этих авторов некий предмет, природный объект, человек либо типичный бытовой жизненный эпизод символизируют  значимое явление или понятие: любовь к Родине, протест против социальной несправедливости, проповедование морально-этических ценностей во всей полноте своих проявлений.

В пейзажной живописи  особенно востребован постимпрессионизм. Произведения, представляющие это направление  всегда полны чувства радостного восприятия мира, в них воплощено восхищение художника красотой, щедростью, силой природы. Авторам очень важно как можно более точно передать  пышный рост деревьев и цветов, яркость солнечного света, воздух, овевающий предметы.

Экспрессионизм  представлен работами эмоционально насыщенными,  когда сила чувства художника: восхищенное удивление, восторг, надежда, протест, – воплощена в форсированном цвете и энергичном, часто  «нервном» мазке, под влиянием которого естественные формы предмета искажаются.

В символических композициях, выполненных в  стиле "дадаизм", мир часто  предстает в своем лирическом варианте, столько в них чистоты и непосредственности, «детскости» в восприятии мира. Дадаистические полотна — это мир новых универсальных категорий ценностей человека.

Наиболее сложными для восприятия часто становятся произведения абстракционизма, в них мировоззрение художника выражается через геометрические фигуры, олицетворяющие мир понятий и чувств автора, их конфигурацию, взаиморасположение, их цвет, что дает зрителю максимальную свободу интерпретаций и ассоциаций, пробуждает его фантазию.

Актуальное искусство – одно из новейших завоеваний современной культуры. Различные его виды: перфоманс, хеппенинг, инсталляция, ассамбляж и т.п. резко контрастируют с привычными представлениями об изобразительном искусстве, вводя в ареал эстетических представлений предметы и явления, изначально таковыми не являющиеся. Здесь очень важна позиция художника, сумевшего увидеть в них некий феномен культуры и в эмоциональной, сугубо личностной форме передать свои представления зрителю. Это – одно из наиболее социально направленных видов изобразительного искусства.

Графика представлена произведениями наиболее известных представителей этого периода. Их жанровые пристрастия разнообразны – от исторического до бытового жанра, пейзажа, портрета.  Также важно и то, что в экспозиции имеются все виды этого искусства: акварель, рисунок, офорт, литография, линогравюра.